Our Board

The Board of Directors for KnowledgeWorks, an operating foundation, consists of individuals passionate about reforming education. Board members provide governance, academic, financial, and nonprofit management guidance to help govern the foundation's work and operations.

John E. Dean, Esq.


  • Principal
  • Washington Partners, LLC

John Dean is founder and a principal of the Washington, D.C. public affairs firm of Washington Partners, LLC.  The firm specializes in federal education programs and represents educational...read more

Honorable Nathaniel R. Jones
  • Retired Judge of the U.S. Court of Appeals, 6th District
  • Blank Rome LLP
  • Of Counsel

Recently, Judge Nathaniel R. Jones retired from his position as a United States Circuit Judge...read more

Lucie Lapovsky, Ph.D
  • Principal, Lapovsky Consulting
  • Former President of Mercy College

Lucie Lapovsky is an economist who consults, writes, teaches and speaks widely on issues related to higher education finance, strategy, leadership, governance...read more

Steven Minter
  • Executive-In-Residence
  • Cleveland State University

Steven Minter was appointed Interim Vice President for University Advancement on May 1, 2010. He had been an Executive-In-Residence at Cleveland State University in September...read more

Lizzette Gonzalez Reynolds
  • Chief Deputy Commissioner at the Texas Education Agency (TEA)

Ms. Reynolds has played an active role in education at both the state and federal level. She is currently the Chief Deputy Commissioner for the Texas Education Agency (TEA) where she oversees...read more

Richard W. Riley, Esq.
  • Former United States Secretary of Education
  • Senior Partner
  • Nelson Mullins Riley & Scarborough LLP
  • EducationCounsel, LLC

When Riley was Governor of South Carolina...read more

Eileen M. Rudden
  • Board Chair of SoundBite Communications (NASDAQ: SDBT)

Ms. Rudden is co-founder of LearnLaunch, Boston’s Edtech Community, and Campus & Accelerator.  Rudden served as Chief Officer, College and Career Preparation at Chicago Public Schools, where she...read more

Dean Joseph P. Tomain

Chair Emeritus

  • Dean Emeritus
  • Wilbert and Helen Ziegler Professor of Law
  • University of Cincinnati College of Law Cincinnati, Ohio

Joseph P. Tomain is a Dean Emeritus and the Wilbert and Helen Ziegler Professor of...read more

Timothy C. Tuff
  • Former Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer                                                  
  • John H. Harland Company

Tim Tuff was the Chairman, President and Chief Executive Officer of John H. Harland...read more